This year, 16 states enforced new voter restrictions, including Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. These restrictions include:

  1. reduced access to the ballot box through decreased early voting and same day Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 7.09.55 PM.pngregistration, and
  2. increased requirement for voter identification and proof of citizenship.

According to this article, published by multi-racial civil rights group, The Advancement Project, these stricter laws, along with explicit biases against people of color come directly between people of color and ballot, making the entire process more arduous.

The author of the article argues that because the  Constitution does not have  explicit provisions set to protect people from state-specific voting policies, this is an on going problem.